Sunday School 2018-02-14T18:31:11+00:00


The first Sunday School Service was led by the Sunday School Superintendent of Orita Mefa Baptist Church, Deacon Prof. Bisi Adebowale on the date of the church’s inauguration 3rd March, 2002 with 47 members in attendance. Thereafter, Bro. Akinwande Akinpelu was nominated as the pioneer Sunday School Superintendent and he served in this capacity for 8 years.
The joint Sunday School lesson of 10th March, 2002 was led by Bro. Akinwande Akinpelu. Thereafter, teachings were led one after the other by other Sunday School Teachers who transferred their membership from Orita Mefa Baptist Church. They are: Deacon Solomon Adeleke, Deacon Jide Soetan, Dns. Adeola Oyefeso, Sister Titilola Akingbola, Sister ‘Bola Ogunmekan, Bro. ‘Yinka Ogunleye , Dns. Femi Ogendengbe and Sis. Deborah Ajuwape.
Due to active participation and high enthusiasm of members, four new classes were established on Sunday, 5th May, 2002. These are: Adult class, Youth Class, Bible Class and Yoruba class. The same day members of the mission church moved to attend the dedication of Agbowo Baptist Church, Ibadan.
The first Sunday School Prayer Retreat was held on 23rd November, 2002 with Rev. Ashaju as the Guest Minister and brethren from Orita Mefa Baptist Sunday School Department in attendance. The following brethren answered God’s call to join the teaching arm of the church: Bro. ‘Rotimi Oni, Bro. ‘Sola Ajani, Bro. Segun Adebayo, Sis. Tomi Wojuola, Mama Thomas and Sis. Ibukun Adeleke and Adedoyin Togun (now Mrs Osundina). Departmental Secretaries were Sis. ‘Seun Ogungbade, Mofifoluwa Oni and ‘Pelumi Akingbola..
When the church moved to the permanent site, the department experienced the unprecedented power of Almighty God with members coming with various testimonies of God’s deliverance, salvation, healings and family restoration which apparently led to expansion from six to ten classes: i.e., 5 Adult, 1 Youth, 1Bible class, 2 Children Sunday School and 1 Yoruba class. Likewise more brethren joined the teaching arm: Sister Taiwo Oluwafemi, Sister Mosun Omoboyede, Brother Dotun Idowu, Bro. Debo Olukole, Bro Seun Akinyemi, Sis. Bunmi Adeyemo, Bro. Anjorin-Ohu, Bro. S. T. Ojo, etc..
Following the Youth Week of July 2010, the Sunday school superintendent inspired youth teachers to join the teaching arm and this led to the addition of Bro Femi Adediwin, Bro Paul Arowolo. Other teachers include Sis Bola Akingbehin, Pastor Rotimi Patrick, Rev S M Leigh and Bro Adetoye Adeniran..
Bro. Akinwande Akinpelu -Sunday School Superintendent (SSS)- Mar 2002-Dec.2009; Sis. Taiwo Oluwafemi (Asst SSS 2007Dec.2009); Deacon Rotimi Oni (SSS Jan.2010 to 2011); Sister Titi Akingbola (Asst SSS1 Jan.2010 to 2011) and Bro. Dotun Idowu (Asst. SSS2 Jan.2010 to 2011)